Artscape selects 16 schools for drama competition

High School Drama Festival
High School Drama Festival

Artscape Theatre Centre announces 16 competition finalists from the recent High School Drama Mini Festivals in which 50 Western Cape schools participated.

“The High School Drama Festival is aimed at giving learners a platform to create and present an original drama piece around the challenges they face in and around their communities on a professional stage, to a captive audience,” says Thokozile Ntshinga, Director of Artscape’s Inclusive Arts Unit. “This experience broadens their horizons by experiencing the magic of live theatre, professional lighting and sound thereby enabling them to learn how essential these elements are to be a professional performer,” alluded Ntshinga.

- Advertisement -

High School Drama Festival 2018 Finalists:

  • Khewla Community Based Organisation
  • Masibambisane High School
  • Bernadino Heights Senior Secondary School
  • Table View High School
  • Itemba Labantu Luthern Community Centre
  • Mount View High School
  • The Settlers High School
  • Chris Hani High School
  • Worcester Secondary School
  • Ikhwezi Theatre Group
  • Immaculata RC Girls High School
  • Masibambane Secondary School
  • Vredendal Secondary School
  • Eersteriver Secondary School
  • Athlone School for the Blind
  • Mbiza Theatre Organisation

The 2018 High School Drama Festival was initiated and coordinated by Artscape’s School Liaison Unit with funding by the HCI Foundation and Die Burger. It aims to promote social cohesion, good citizenship and empowerment through the arts.

The finalists will spend four action-packed days at the High School Drama Main Festival where they will present their extraordinary drama projects to a panel of adjudicators aimed at broadening their skills from 20-23 August 2018. At the end of the competition, the winners will be announced at a gala awards ceremony where they will receive their prizes on 25 August 2018.

This year’s Main Festival will be adjudicated by Riaan Smith, Sticks Mdidimba and Lesley Manim who will be tasked to select the winners in the following categories: Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Script, Best Director, Best Production, Best Innovative Technical and Adjudicators Award.

Leave a Reply