National Orders of Ikhamanga to be awarded


Artsvark Presser

Artsvark Presser is directly connected to the South African Arts Community, and spits out press releases and other news as passed on by community members.
Artsvark Presser
National Order of Ikhamanga
National Order of Ikhamanga

The Order of Ikhamanga is awarded to South African citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport. It is awarded by the presidency and can awarded in gold, silver and bronze categories.

The Ikhamanga or Strelitzia is a plant that symbolises the unqiue beauty of achievements by men and women who carry South Africa aloft in the fields of creativity, arts, culture, music, journalism and sport.

- Advertisement -

The design of the award itself contains five elements.

The Lydenburg Heads, symbolise the arts, a terracotta head representing visual, creative arts, performance and drama.

The second element is an African drum which is relevant to all cultures and representative of the arts. This drum symbolises excellent talent in communication and cultural celebration.

The third element is a crest or sun, a crown that symbolises a feathered head-dress worn by performers, royalty and respected people. The rays of the sun, also denote power, glory, illumination and vitality, and represent the achievements of performers in various fields.

The fourth element, inner ovals or borders, represent glorification in sport, and symbolise the acknowledgement of exceptional achievements in various sporting and cultural activities.

Lastly, the fifth element is roads, used to represent achievement and success, and portray that all roads lead to Africa and the Cradle of Humankind. They emphasise the long, hard road to achievement, excellence and success.

The Order of Ikhamanga will be bestowed in Bronze on:

  • Traci Mackie: For her contribution to the field of journalism and exposing the evils of apartheid. She exposed the covering-up of the manner Steve Biko’s death was reported and exposed those in the Security Branch who were involved.
  • Elsa Meyer: For her excellent contribution to the field of senior athletics and encouraging the elderly to remain fit in their matured years.

The Order of Ikhamanga will be bestowed in Silver on:

  • Hashim Mohammed Amla: For his contribution to the sport of cricket. He has brought pride to our country with his many batting firsts in the international cricket arena and remains one of the leading batsmen of our time.
  • Omar Badsha: For his commitment to the preservation of our country’s history through ground-breaking and well-balanced research and collection of profiles and events of the struggle for liberation.
  • Eric Risimati Baloyi: For his contribution to youth development through training young boxers who have gone on to make South Africa proud in global competitions.
  • Johan Botha (posthumous): For his excellent contribution to opera music and putting South Africa on the world stage. He courageously entertained multitudes and sang for good causes even at a time when his health was weakening.
  • Lillian Dube: For her contribution to the performing arts and raising awareness in women’s health issues through storytelling. Her creative ways of dealing with serious subjects through humour has been healing to the nation.
  • Sipho Cecil Peter “Hotstix” Mabuse: For his contribution to the field of music and social cohesion. His spellbinding music has consistently captured the imagination of the nation.
  • Elana Meyer: For her contribution to track and field athletics. Her commitment to her sport and her glittering performances put South Africa on the world stage multiple times.
  • John Koenakeefe Motlhankana (posthumous): For his contribution to the field of art. His works remain an inspiration to many budding and established artists.
  • Thami Mnyele (posthumous): For his excellent use of art and cultural activism to confront injustice. His creative works remain a living legacy and witness that oppression does not diminish one’s talent.
  • Advocate Nakedi Ribane: For her contribution to the performing arts and literature. She has been a consistent advocate for equity and justice in the arts.
  • John William Smit: For his contribution and leadership in the sport of rugby. He captained his country to become world champions and has been the epitome of pride and commitment.
  • Neil Robert Tovey: For his excellent contribution to South African football; his passion for the sport put South Africa on the world map when he captained the national team to winning the Africa Cup of Nations.

Leave a Reply