Nominations announced for the 14th Annual Naledi Theatre Awards


Artsvark Presser

Artsvark Presser is directly connected to the South African Arts Community, and spits out press releases and other news as passed on by community members.
Artsvark Presser

The Naledi Theatre awards nominations announcement were slightly delayed this year according to the Naledi CEO Dawn Lindberg. “ As usual funding has been an issue; however in true showbiz fashion, The Show Must Go On,!”

Despite the nominations and awards being later in the year, The Naledi Team are happy to announce that the nominations were made public at the exciting new Ramolao Makhene Theatre at the Market Theatre precinct on the 14th of May. The gala awards evening will take place on 18th June, and the events team are currently busy finalizing the venue.

- Advertisement -

The theatre world has been buzzing with anticipation, and as usual the Naledi Awards are one of the highlights of the Showbiz year. Ranging across all the disciplines of theatre, the Naledis are coveted by performers, designers, the production teams and staging crews.  As the largest theatre awards in South Africa, a nomination by the Naledi Judges is in itself an achievement. The main panel Judges are obliged to see the majority of the productions that qualify, which broadly speaking are professional productions with more than ten concurrent performances. There is also a second panel of judges that looks at youth performances, known as the Assitej Nominations.

The 2017-year was a very busy one for theatre, with an extraordinary amount new talent, works and sheer entertainment on display.

Nominations for Best Musical for the year include, the revival of the famed South African musical classics “King Kong” (Eric Abraham and the Fugard Theatre Productions) and “Sarafina” (Committed Artist Productions in Association with the South African State Theatre) the iconic “Priscilla Queen of the Desert”, (Prod. by. Hazel Feldman, Showtime Management, Lunchbox Theatrical Productions & Nullabor Productions in ass. With MGM ON STAGE)Evita” (Pieter Toerien and David Ian) and “West Side Story” (Eric Abraham and The Fugard Theatre Productions) rounded off the musical year.

The nominations for the “Best Director of a Musical or a Review” go to, Elizma Badenhorst for “Rock of Ages” (Prod. by. Gold Reef City, Exec VR Theatrical Written by. Chris D’Arienzo), Jonathan Munby for “King Kong” and Dr Mbongeni Ngema for “Sarafina”. Matthew Wild has been nominated for his direction of  “West Side Story”.

“Best lead performance in a Musical or Review/ Male” nominations go to Andile Gumbi (as King Kong) in “King Kong”. David Dennis (as Bernadette) for “Priscilla Queen of the Desert), Jonathan Roxmouth (as Che) in “Evita”. Phillip Schnetler (as Adam/Felicia) in “Priscilla Queen of the Desert” and Sne Dladla (as Pop) in “King Kong”.

Nominations for “Best lead performance in a Musical or Review/Female” go to Claire Taylor (as Sherrie) in “Rock of Ages”, Emma Kingston (as Eva Peron) in “Evita”, Lynelle Kenned (as Maria) in “West Side Story”, Nondumiso Tembe (as Joyce) in “King Kong” and Noxolo Dlamini (as Sarafina) in “Sarafina.”

“The Inconvenience of Wings”, (Lara Foot & The Baxter Theatre Centre in ass. with the Market Theatre.) “When Swallows Cry” (The Market Theatre)  “Die Reuk van Appels” (The

S.A State Theatre in assoc. with Theatrerocket) “The Suitcase”  (The Market Theatre)

“Tamasha on Hope Street” (The Market Theatre) and “Moliere’s Tartuffe(The Fortune

Cookie Theatre Company in collaboration with the French Institute of South Africa and the Alliance Francaise in South Africa, amply supplied us with the nominations for the Best Play.

Best Director of a play nominations went to, Andre Odendaal for “Karel Se Oupa” (Prod. by. The Market Theatre in ass. With Kosie Smit Written by. Retief Scholtz). Lara Bye received a nomination for “Die Reuk van Appels”, and Lara Foot got the nod for “The Inconvenience of Wings”. Lesedi Job is nominated for her direction of “When Swallows Cry” and finally Sylvaine Strike has been nominated for “Moliere’s Tartuffe”.

“Best performer in a play/Female” nominations go to Ameera Patel for “ Tamasha on Hope Street”, Carly Graeme for “Betrayal” (Prod. by. Daphne Kuhn by arr. With Judy Daish associates limited & F. Pinter limited Written by. Harold Pinter) Chi Mende for “Chasing Chairs” (Prod. by. The Market Theatre Written by. Sue Pam-­‐Grant & DJ Grant) Jennifer Steyn for “The Inconvenience of Wings”, Masasa Lindiwe Mbangeni for “The Suitcase and Vanessa Cooke for “Moliere’s Tartuffe”

The nominations for the “Best performer in a play/Male” go to Andrew Buckland “The inconvenience of Wings”, Christiaan Schoombie for “When Swallows Cry”, Craig Morris for “Moliere’s Tartuffe”, Graeme Hopkins for “Freuds last Session” (Prod. by. Daphne Kuhn by arr with DALRO Written by. Mark ST. Germain), Lindani Nkosi for “Tamasha on Hope Street) and Mpho Osei-Tutu for “When Swallows Cry”.

As part of the Naledi mandate to grow the industry and identifying upcoming performers is the coveted “Best Newcomer/Breakthrough Performance” Award. This award is given to those new rising stars in the Industry. This year Ian Roelofs (Karel se Oupa), Isabella Jane (Evita) Kanyi Nokwe (Pinocchio the Pantomime) Noxolo Dlamini (Sarafina) and Phillip Schnetler (Priscilla Queen of the Desert) have been nominated.

One of the most exciting award is given to the “Best New South African Script” which encourages and fosters new and uniquely South African script and play writes, this year, nominations go to Johann Smith for “Die Reuk van Appels”, Retief Scholtz for “Karel se Oupa”, Rajsh Gopie for “Tamasha on Hope Street”, Lara Foot for “The Inconvenience of Wings” and Mike van Graan for “When Swallows Cry.

There are many strong contenders for the Awards this year” says Dawn Lindberg “.. And the nominations debate was a robust one, but it has reflected the quality of the productions presented and the true non partisan nature of the board in their deliberations”.

Naledi is proud to introduce the new Board of Directors for 2018:

Patron: Dr John Kani; Chairperson: Kgomotso Christopher; Deputy Chair: Sello Maake Ka Ncube and Maishe Maponya; Executive Director and Legal: Lihan Pretorius; Directors: Mbongeni Ngema, Thuli Sithole, Hemant Vanmali, Des Lindberg; Founder and CEO: Dawn Lindberg.

For a comprehensive list of all the nominations please visit the Naledi Theatre Awards website  For all the exciting news surrounding these epic awards.

Naledi Theatre Awards

Leave a Reply