UNISA National Piano Competition set to take place in July


Artsvark Presser

Artsvark Presser is directly connected to the South African Arts Community, and spits out press releases and other news as passed on by community members.
Artsvark Presser

UNISA LogoBookings for the immensely popular final round of the Unisa National Piano Competition are now open at Computicket. It will take place on Friday, 26 July at 19:00 in the ZK Matthews Great Hall in Pretoria.

The fourth and last round of the exciting event will feature two young classical pianists and two young jazz pianists. They will perform with the Johannesburg Festival Orchestra, conducted by Richard Cock and a rhythm section consisting of bassist Amaeshi Ikechi and drummer Rob Watson respectively.

- Advertisement -

The competition starts with Round 1 of the Classical Category on Friday 19 July at 10:30, followed by Round 1 of the Jazz Category on Saturday 20 July at 14:00.

Tickets for Rounds 1 to 3 will only be sold at the door. Final round tickets are sold at Computicket.

Ten distinguished South African pianists and piano educators have been selected to adjudicate the two categories. Catherine Foxcroft (Grahamstown), Megan-Geoffrey Prins (Cape Town), Ben Schoeman (Pretoria), Nina Schumann (Stellenbosch) and Elna van der Merwe (Stellenbosch) are the adjudicators for the Classical Category. Bokani Dyer (Johannesburg), Andrew Lilley (Cape Town), Nduduzo Makhathini (East London), Burton Naidoo (Durban) and Melvin Peters (Durban) will adjudicate the Jazz Category.

Unisa sponsors the competition with prize money totalling R280 000.00.

The competitors in the Jazz Category are Eaton Clapper (25, Pretoria), Teboho Kobedi (26, Pretoria), Thabiso Mfana (25, Pretoria), Siphephelo Ndlovu (25, Johannesburg), Ntando Ngcapu (28, Pretoria) and Obakeng Thamage (21, Krugersdorp).

The competitors in the Classical Category are André Breet (24, Krugersdorp), Willem de Beer (27, Pretoria), Lourens Fick (28, Paarl), Sulayman Human (26, Dysselsdorp), Roelof Temmingh (23, Stellenbosch), Caron Tremble (23, Cape Town), Jolandi Schaap (20, Pretoria), Rosie Lemmer (20, Pretoria), and Lezanti van Sittert (23, Pretoria).

The performance schedule for Round 1 are available on the Unisa Music Foundation’s website www.unisa.ac.za/musicfoundation.

Leave a Reply